Hope for the future

‎”Before I came to Good News, I had no family, no parents, no friends, no hope, no future. Holly, now I can tell you, I have a family, I have parents/guardians, I have friends. But more importantly, I have hope. I have a future. I used to be called “the hopeless one” but now, I know God has a plan for me.”

This was a beautiful testimony from a young youth member who has no family. He was kidnapped at the age of 6 years old and was at several orphanages growing up. They tried to trace his family and his home when he was older but couldn’t find anyone. He shared with me that at times he felt so alone and hopeless he had many thoughts of suicide growing up. 

 Right after our wedding, Good News started to take care of and provide a home for him. We have helped encourage, provide for, love and show that Christ has a hopeful future for him. One of the orphanages that he went to, is now providing for him to attend college in a few months. A huge opportunity for him! I helped him fill out his college application and get everything in order to be accepted. While he was filling it out, he came to Fred and I and asked us if we would sign as his parents/guardians for the form as he didn’t have anyone. We were humbled and offered to be “anyone” or do “anything” he needed us to be/do. We are blessed to be a part of this young mans life and so happy that he feels loved and has hope that only Christ can give him. I know God will do amazing things through him.

Please pray for him as he starts an exciting new journey.

I presented him with his acceptance letter the other day, with joy and sadness, because I didn’t want him to leave in a few months. I said, will you really come back when you’re done with school? 

He responded by saying…

‎”Before I came to Good News, I had no family, no parents, no friends, no hope, no future. Holly, now I can tell you, I have a family, I have parents/guardians, I have friends. But more importantly, I have hope. I have a future. I used to be called “the hopeless one” but now, I know God has a plan for me…I will be back, this is my home, this is where I belong.”

 

 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Jeremiah 29:11

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Hope for the future

  1. It’s so amazing to see how God is using you.

  2. mom

    It is so awesome to see how many lives you have touched, with the help of God, in just a short time. xo

Leave a Reply

